It begins

The Kiribati Project is our most comprehensive participative film project so far. We are launching our third feature film project together with the people of the islands of the Republic of Kiribati. Due to the melting of the poles and the rise of the sea level, the groundwater stocks of numerous atolls are over-silting, the sea is beating faster than ever before over the islands and threatens to engulf them still in this century.

Our pitching video (last post under this one)  tells you about our motives to make this movie.

Again, there is no script, no fixed statement to filch, but instead, the search for the stories that we will explore together with local people in a variety of workshops.

On the island of Tarawa we will start work in January 2018. The area of ​the Islands of the republic is huge. The islands spread across the vast Pacific Ocean on an area just about the size of the U.S.A. We will try to visit as many islands as possible and invite as many people as possible into the project.

In the course of the year 2018 you can follow the progress of the work on our project blog mauri-kiribati.com.

We are happy to have found a political patron for our project with the member of parliament, Michael Leutert, who has supported us intensively since the planning phase, encouraged us, pointed out possible funding and became a fan of this film project.

And we succeeded, to win Professor Dr. Mojib Latif for the scientific advice for the film, who gave us valuable advice already for the shooting at a first meeting in Hamburg.

We thank Maria Kling of the production “Studio Kalliope“, who believed in this project from the beginning and feared no difficulties and obstacles to get it going.

Bookmark the permalink.

Es geht los

Das Kiribatiprojekt ist unser bislang umfangreichstes partizipatives Filmprojekt. Wir werden unseren dritten Kinolangfilmfilm gemeinsam mit den Menschen der Inseln der Republik Kiribati auf den Weg bringen. Aufgrund des Abschmelzens der Pole und des Anstieg des Meeresspiegels versalzen die Grundwasserbestände zahlreicher Atolle, schlägt das Meer heftiger als je zuvor über die Inseln und droht, sie noch in diesem Jahrhundert zu verschlingen.

Unser Pitching Video (letzter Blogeintrag vor diesem) erzählt euch von unseren Motiven, diesen Film zu machen.

Wieder gibt es kein Drehbuch, keine abzufilmende feststehende Aussage, sondern stattdessen die Suche nach den Geschichten, die wir mit den Menschen vor Ort in einer Vielzahl von Workshop gemeinsam entdecken werden.

Auf der Insel Tarawa, werden wir im Januar 2018 mit der Arbeit beginnen. Das Seegebiet der Republik ist riesig. Die Inseln verteilen sich über den weiten Pazifik auf einer Fläche in der Größe der U.S.A.. Wir werden versuchen, so viele Inseln wie möglich zu besuchen und so viele Menschen wie möglich in das Projekt einzuladen.

Auf unserem Projektblog mauri-kiribati.com könnt ihr im Laufe des Jahres 2018 den Fortgang der Arbeiten verfolgen.

Wir sind glücklich, mit dem Bundestagsabgeordneten Michael Leutert einen politischen Schirmherrn für unseren Film gefunden zu haben, der uns bereits seit der Planungsphase intensiv unterstützte, uns Mut machte, uns auf mögliche Förderungen hinwies und überhaupt ein Fan dieses Filmprojektes geworden ist.

Und es ist uns gelungen, Professor Dr. Mojib Latif für die wissenschaftliche Beratung für den Film zu gewinnen, der uns bereits bei einem ersten Gespräch in Hamburg wertvolle Ratschläge für den Dreh mit auf die Reise gab.

Wir danken Maria Kling von der Produktion Studio Kalliope, die von Anfang an an dieses Projekt geglaubt hat und keine Schwierigkeiten und Hindernisse fürchtete, es auf die Beine zu bringen.

Bookmark the Permalink.