Home

Since December 6th we are back in Germany. Our experiences in the Pacific have strongly influenced us. Did you know that the Marshallese way of saying hello has three spellings and three meanings? The “hello” of the Pacific Republic can be written as “Yokwe”, “Iakwe” or “Yakwe” and it means “hello”, but also “I love you.” Or “you are as beautiful as the rainbow is.”

more

Once a year

Once a year, there is a Marshallese film festival on Majuro. Among the thirteen submissions this year was a short film about “Happiness”, which the young people created from our workshop in Laura. Although it won no prize in the end, it got a thunderous applause from the audience. Here it is. “Happiness” from Laura Highschool Media Team.

A short month

Today we sent a copy of the footage from Majuro (RMI) to our production company “Studio Kalliope” in Potsdam (Germany). The little package in the video below has it all. It contains 8 hard disks, each with 5 TB of video material and audio recordings, therefore 40 TB of data and an HD proxy on two additional hard disks. If one were to watch all video recordings without interruption one after the other, one would need more than two weeks to see it all, we have calculated. The package is now on its way to Hawaii. From there it reaches a postal distribution center in the US and then it flies across the Atlantic to a cool european autumn, where a DHL messenger will one gray morning hand it over to Maria Kling at the garden fence. Good trip, small package! Do not get lost.

No time for writing

A lot has happened again. So much that we neglect this blog very much. By the summer of 2018, the participants in our workshops and we have shot many interviews and moods. The amount of material is enormous. We have also edited smaller film projects, some of which can (will) be found on this blog. In addition to the workshops on Majuro, Christina took over workshops on Ebeye. We were able to actively involve 75 people on the Marshall Islands in the film work, that is not counting the many advisors and helpers. That’s about 0.14 percent of the total population, but above all, there are 75 great people who contribute their experiences, perspectives and ideas to the project. (*1)

more

I do not want to live in another Country

September 8th is a global day to rise for climate action. Activities and demonstrations are planned in more than 70 countries to end the era of fossel fuels and building 100% renewable energy for all. In Germany alone, more than 25 events are planned.

Also here on the Marshall Islands and other Pacific Islands, they are preparing for the 8th of September. Under the slogan #RiseForClimate and #RiseForPacificPawa (“Pawa” – Pidgin English for “Power”), the many small island states unite to support each other, letting the world know: we are not drowning, we are fighting. They fight for the protection of the climate, for the survival of their islands and for their cultural identity. We filmed the preparatory meeting of the environmental organization Jo-Jikum, which is our local partner and part of the global climate movement 350.org. This year’s campaign symbol is Kikonang, a sort of palm leaf windmill. It stands for movement, for renewable energy such as wind and solar energy, for the arts and crafts, which has an important cultural significance here and many reminds them of their childhood, as it is a popular toy on the island states. It is important to tackle the climate crisis globally. There is no industry in the Marshall Islands, and people are the least polluting people due to greenhouse gas emissions. But they are at the frontlines to be affected by the impacts of climate change.

For more information visit: https://riseforclimate.org // https://350.org // https://350pacific.org

Perspectives

During the Second World War, the Marshall Islands, due to their geographical location in the Pacific, were the scene of numerous armed conflicts between the USA and Japan. Even today the traces of it are visible. On and around the various atolls you can find the remains of bunkers and control centers, sunken shipwrecks and crashed planes. The upper photo shows the ruins of Japanese tankers on the island of Tarawa in Maloelap Atoll.

In the video you see an American aircraft wreck (probably a small bomber) lying on the bottom of the Majuro lagoon. It has become an artificial reef for a variety of living beings. Irony of time.

A Story of good Water

With our workshops, we always make small trips. The voyage told below in the video leads us to the island of Kolol En. We accompanied Jina David, an environmental activist and Councelmen. Together with a group of young people, Jina tested the water quality in the island’s rain reservoirs and at the same time taught the young people how to provide clean water in the future. Jina’s project was made possible by Jo-Jikum and KIO.

Maloelap calling

For a week, our team member Christina Schulze accompanied a research team led by the Marshallese scientist Mark Stege in their work on the Maloelap Atoll. From this week she brought you a little movie titled “Stewards of the Environment”, which already gives you some of the narrative style and moods of our future movie.

And 13,070 kilometers away from the Maloelap Atoll, the Potsdam (Germany) based musician Marc Schicker composed the music for her video while watching it. Have fun watching and listening.

The work of the research team around Mark Stege has been made possible by the Unitarian Universalist Service Committee and the Marshall Islands Conservation Society.

Camera is running and running and running

We went to Rita. From here you can not drive on. Majuro’s main road ends here. (*1) From this point you can look over to the next islands of the atoll, which are arranged around the lagoon. Our workshop participants Hanson and Ronny chose the location for their interview. Both grew up here in Rita, but now live in the town-center of Majuro. We set up the tripod, set up the big Canon and check the sound. Ok, are you ready? “Audio picks up.” “Camera is running.” Let’s go.

more

kickoff meeting for workshops

April, 18th: We have been feverishly looking forward to this day, it is the first major information event to enlist participants for our participative film project. We had been working a lot for publicity for this meeting in advance. We placed ads on Facebook and sent a bulk SMS to all cell phone owners on the island. The Marshall Islands Journal wrote about us and Mark was a guest on a live broadcast on the radio. The city was full of our flyers and there was quite a lot of word of mouth recommendation.

more

Einmal jährlich

Einmal jährlich gibt es auf Majuro eine marshallesisches Filmfestival. Unter den dreizehn Einreichungen in diesem Jahr war auch ein Kurzfilm über „Freude“, den die Jugendlichen aus unserem Workshop in Laura erstellten. Er gewann zwar am Ende keinen Preis, holte aber einen tosenden Applaus aus dem Publikum. Hier ist er. „Freude“ vom Laura Highschool Media Team.

Ein knapper Monat

Abgedreht! Heute haben wir aus Majuro (RMI) eine Kopie des gedrehten Materials zu unserer Produktionsgesellschaft „Studio Kalliope“ nach Potsdam (Germany) geschickt. Das kleine Päckchen im Video hat es in sich. Es enthält 8 Festplatten mit jeweils 5 TB Videomaterial und Audioaufnahmen, demnach 40 TB Daten und dazu einen HD-Proxy auf zwei weiteren Festplatten.

Würde man alle Videoaufnahmen ohne Unterbrechung hintereinanderweg anschauen, bräuchte man mehr als zwei Wochen, haben wir mal ausgerechnet. Das Paket macht sich nun auf die Reise nach Hawai. Von dort aus erreicht es ein Postverteilungszentrum in den USA und dann fliegt es über den Atlantik in das kühle Europa, wo es ein DHL-Bote eines grauen Herbstmorgens in etwa einer Woche dann der Maria Kling am Gartenzaun in die Hand drücken wird. Gute Reise, kleines Paket! Mach’ keinen Mist.

Keine Zeit zum Schreiben

Wieder ist viel passiert. So viel, dass wir diesen Blog sehr vernachlässigen. Bis zum Sommer 2018 haben die Teilnehmenden unserer Workshops und wir vor allem viele Interviews und Schnittbilder gedreht. Die Menge des Materials ist enorm. Daneben haben wir kleinere Film-Projekte geschnitten, von denen sich einige in diesem Blog finden (werden). Zusätzlich zu den Workshops auf Majuro übernahm Christina Workshops auf Ebeye. Wir konnten 75 Menschen auf den Marshallinseln in die Filmarbeiten aktiv involvieren, wobei wir die vielen Ratgeber*innen und Helfer*innen gar nicht mitzählen. Das sind stolze 0.14 Prozent der Gesamtbevölkerung, aber vor allem sind es 75 großartige Menschen, die ihre Erfahrungen, Sichtweisen und Ideen in das Projekt einbringen. (*1)

mehr

In einem anderen Land will ich nicht leben

Auch hier auf den Marshall Islands und auf anderen pazifischen Inseln bereitet man sich auf den 8. September vor. Unter dem Motto #RiseForClimate und dem Motto #RiseForPacificPawa (“Pawa” – Pidgin-Englisch für ” Power”) vereinen sich die vielen kleinen Inselstaaten, um sich gemeinsam zu unterstützen und der Welt zu zeigen: wir gehen nicht unter, wir kämpfen. Sie kämpfen für den Klimaschutz, für das Überleben ihrer Inseln und damit verbunden für ihre kulturelle Identität. Wir haben das Vorbereitungstreffen der Umweltorganisation Jo-Jikum gefilmt, die unser lokaler Partner und Teil der globalen Klimabewegung 350.org ist. Das diesjährige Symbol der Aktivitäten ist das Kikonang, eine Art Windrad aus Palmenblättern. Es steht für Bewegung, für erneuerbare Engergien wie Wind- und Solarenergie, für das Kunsthandwerk, das hier eine wichtige kulturelle Bedeutung hat und viele Menschen erinnert es auch ganz einfach an ihre Kindheit, da es ein beliebtes Spielzeug auf den Inselstaaten war und ist. Es ist wichtig, die Klimakrise global anzugehen. Auf den Marshall Islands gibt es keine Industrie, die Menschen hier tragen am wenigsten zur Umweltverschmutzung durch den Ausstoss von Treibhausgasen bei. Sie sind aber die Ersten, die von den Folgen des Klimawandels betroffen sind.

Mehr Infos dazu findet ihr unter diesen Links: https://riseforclimate.org und https://350.org und https://350pacific.org

Perspektiven

Während des zweiten Weltkrieges waren die Marshall Inseln aufgrund ihrer geographischen Lage im Pazifik Schauplatz zahlreicher kriegerischer Auseinandersetzungen zwischen den USA und Japan. Noch heute sind die Spuren davon sichtbar. So findet man auf und um die verschiedenen Atolle die Überreste von Bunkern und Kontrollzentren, gesunkene Schiffwracks und abgestürzte Flugzeuge. Das obere Foto zeigt die Ruinen japanischer Tanker auf der Insel Tarawa im Maloelap Atoll.

Im Video seht ihr ein amerikanisches Flugzeugwrack (vermutlich ein kleiner Bomber), das auf dem Grund der Lagune von Majuro liegt. Es ist zu einem künstlichen Riff für eine Vielzahl von Lebewesen geworden. Ironie der Zeit.

Eine Geschichte von gutem Wasser

Mit unseren Workshops in der RMI unternehmen wir immer wieder kleine Reisen. Die Reise, von der das Video unten erzählt, führt uns auf die Insel Kolol En. Wir begleiteten Jina David, einen Umweltaktivisten und Councelmen. Gemeinsam mit einer Gruppe von Jugendlichen prüfte Jina die Wasserqualität in den Regenspeichern der Insel und lehrte die Jugendlichen zugleich, wie sie zukünftig selbst für sauberes Wasser sorgen können. Jinas Projekt wurde ermöglicht von Jo-Jikum und KIO.

Maloelap calling

Eine Woche lang begleitete unser Teammitglied Christina Schulze ein Forschungsteam um den marshallesischen Wissenschaftler Mark Stege bei ihren Arbeiten auf dem Maloelap Atoll. Von dieser Woche hat sie euch einen kleinen Film mit dem Titel “Stewards of the Environment” mitgebracht, der euch bereits einiges von der Erzählart und den Stimmungen unseres zukünftigen Filmes zu verraten vermag.

Und ganz 13.070 Kilometer entfernt vom Maloelap Atoll komponierte der Potsdamer Musiker Marc Schicker ihrem Video beim Anschauen die Musik auf den Leib. Viel Spaß beim Ansehen und Anhören.

Die Arbeit des Forschungsteams um Mark Stege wurde ermöglicht durch „Unitarian Universalist Service Committee“ und die „Marshall Islands Conservation Society“.

Kamera läuft und läuft und…

Wir sind nach Rita gefahren. Weiter fahren kann man nicht, hier endet Majuros einzige Hauptstrasse. (*1) Von diesem Punkt aus kann man auf die nächsten Inseln des Atolls rüberschauen, die sich rund um die Lagune anordnen. Den Ort haben unsere Workshopteilnehmer Hanson und Ronny für ihr Interview vor der Kamera ausgewählt. Beide sind hier in Rita aufgewachsen, leben jetzt aber im Stadtzentrum („town-town“) von Majuro. Wir bauen das Stativ auf, richten gemeinsam die große Canon ein und checken den Ton. Ok, sind alle bereit? „Audio nimmt auf.“ „Kamera läuft.“ Los geht´s.

mehr

Kickoff-Meeting für Workshops

18. April 2018: Wir haben sehr lange auf diesen Tag hingefiebert, es ist die erste große Infoveranstaltung, um TeilnehmerInnen für unser partizipatives Filmprojekt zu gewinnen. Wir hatten im Vorfeld viel Werbung für dieses Treffen gemacht. Wir haben Anzeigen über Facebook geschaltet, eine Massen-SMS an alle Handybesitzer auf der Insel verschickt. Das Marshall Islands Journal schrieb über uns und Mark war als Gast bei einer Live-Sendung im Radio. Die Stadt war voll mit unseren Flyern und wir hatten bereits für ordentlich Mundpropaganda gesorgt. Doch wie viele Menschen würden am Ende zu unserem Treffen kommen? Wir konnten das schlecht einschätzen und hofften auf das Beste.

mehr

Wie bunte Hunde

Vieles ist seit unserem letzten Eintrag geschehen. Am 2. April bekamen wir unsere Visa und zwar für die Dauer eines ganzen Jahres. Ab diesem Moment konnten wir richtig los legen. Es passiert gerade viel. Heute wollen wir euch kurz über das größte bevorstehende Ereignis berichten, an dem wir gerade auf Hochtouren arbeiten.

mehr